First Departure

The first group has left Hastings now. It felt strange, some kind of mixture between relief and emptiness with a touch of sadness. These kids have been here for three weeks and in some odd way I will miss them. I didn’t think so at the start, I thought it would be pure relief when they started going home but its actually quite emotional.

With the first departure finished, me and my colleges are starting to see the end of our stay here. We’ve already been here for a month and me and Elisabeth will only be here for one more. Sofie is leaving even earlier than that. Sure a month is a month but it doesn’t feel like that long and what will happen when we return home? Will we keep in touch? I know that I’m horrible at it.

Now that the kids are starting to leave maybe I’ll at least have some time to draw …

When the end starts to become real to me something else brings out some anxiety. This fall, I know what I’m going to do, but I don’t know if I can sustain myself on it. I have been accepted to a continuation course but are only a reserve to the introduction course hopefully I will be accepted but I don’t know… Well when life serves you lemons you make lemonade!

Lots of love Ann

